Organic aphid garden pesticide

Garlic oil is an excellent natural pesticide. When the aphids come to feast on your fruits and vegetables, give them some Italian cuisine.. Garlic oil.

Of course it is easy to make and I reused some items that have been looking for purpose. I don’t use harmful chemical in my hair anymore and this spray bottle was a perfect fit. I washed it well with warm dawn soapy water, rinsed and dried.

20130413-195605.jpg

Don’t forget to rinse out the sprayer too.

I fell for the convenience of some jarred minced garlic.. Yuck. I have used half the jar over the past 12 months that it has been lurking in my fridge so I didn’t need to use the extra wide jar in the picture. I just poured the mineral oil in the garlic jar. It was about the equivalent of 4 minced cloves. There is no perfect science. The more garlicky the more deadly…..

20130413-203418.jpg

Jar full of garlic and mineral oil. Put the lid on and find a nice sunny place in the window for a few days.

20130413-205242.jpg

Allow it to steep in the oil in the sun for 2-7 days.

Strain the mess into a mesh, catching the garlic oil in clean jar. When needed, I add 1-2 tablespoons to 13.5 ounces of water in my spray bottle. Shake well. Test on a small area of your plant and check in a day or two to make sure the plant is not damaged. If it is okay, mist the plant with the diluted garlic oil/water. Bugs don’t like it. Even the good ones like lady bugs who eat aphids so check every couple days. A good burst from the water hose the day after spraying the plants helps too.

Planting garlic cloves throughout the garden also helps to deter the pests. Garlic in the garden means no more need for jarred minced garlic.

Planting marigolds around the garden works too.

20130413-210452.jpg

This image by chicagonow.com shows how the garden can be bordered with marigold. I am doing this but it’s too early. They are no bigger than sprouts right now.

20130413-210644.jpg

2 thoughts on “Organic aphid garden pesticide

    • Thanks. I haven’t posted it yet but I made a cayenne, vinegar, salt and a couple drops of dawn for a weed killer. I wasn’t sure it would work so I didn’t take a before picture. I plan on doing that post soon. I was pleased.. It killed the weed all the way to the root.

Leave a Reply

