Easy chicken pot pie

Yes,…another chickens pot pie recipe. They are so good and so fattening but you can indulge on this one because there is only one crust right?

As far as ingredients, a pot pie goes like this…. Dough or a crust, filled with a meat and vegetables.. Don’t overthink it. It’s a pot with a pie in it, full of yummy ingredients. Experiment. As long as you thicken up your meat and vegetables, it will be good. Think gravy. Thick enough to coat a spoon and not too runny to drip off. I once made a chicken pot pie for my friend Kathy and it was too thick. Blah. Too thick isn’t good either.

I lucked out at the grocery this weekend. These bags of Alexia organic frozen vegetables were marked down to 1.00 a bag! Yay me. I bought all five that were left.

20130806-191314.jpg

So start with some thawed chicken, I used two boneless breasts. Cut, chop, slice, whatever your preference.

20130806-191416.jpg

I cut into bite sized pieces and sautéed in the sage infused olive oil packet that came in the vegetables. Use a large skillet.

Once cooked, I added the frozen vegetables and cooked another 5-10 minutes until they were thawed (not sure the exact time because I was on the phone during this step)

Then I did my old country woman trick… Add a quarter cup of flour to this sautéed mixture and stir until you can’t see the flour anymore and the chicken and vegetables are evenly and thickly coated. Then I added a small container of Pacifica chicken broth (8oz) and then I filled up the broth carton with water and stirred that in. It’s important that you do these steps in order. I’m sure there is a fancy culinary word for this but I just don’t cook fancy.

20130806-191710.jpg

Let the stewy mixture cook at a low heat while you complete the next step.

I lined a round glass greased casserole dish with one pre made refrigerator crust. I wasnt feeling a Tuesday night overachievement….. no homemade crust tonight. Plus shame on me, it’s not even organic like the rest of my ingredients, the whole dish is ruined!!!!! not….

By now your stewy chicken mixture should have thickened up. I added abut a half cup of frozen corn (organic) to the pan and stirred it all together.

Pour into your casserole dish and gently fold over the edges like its a galette. To please my man, I crushed up some potato chips (organic.. Seriously) and put on top to make up for the missing top crust.

Voila. Hearty Tuesday night dinner

20130806-200029.jpg

20130806-200037.jpg

20130806-200049.jpg

20130806-200053.jpg

Leave a Reply

