Vintage in-the-door twist crank door bell restoration

I live in a 117 year old house. Sometimes it’s a challenge to heat, cool and clean. But, we have the original doors which I love. Big heavy solid wood doors with a lead glass window.

20131005-211444.jpg

What you can’t see on this side of the door is an original brass twist crank door bell.

20131005-211554.jpg

Who paints these things? Does it come from pure laziness or at some point was this considered an eye sore or old fashioned? Either way I am happy that it wasn’t taken out if the door. But the paint muffled the sound of the bell and it needed some maintenance.

First I very carefully began scraping off the paint. It was decades of paint and paint types so I heated it with a hair dryer and began picking… All day picking with a sharp knife. I was careful not to gouge. Once I was able to loosen the center screw that holds it to the door, I removed it. I filled a glass bowl with hot sauce. Yep, hot sauce.

20131005-212038.jpg

I lowered the bell into the sauce and let it sit for a while. The acidic hit sauce ate away at the corosion on the outside and inside of the metal. Check every 15 minutes and use a soft toothbrush to scrub some of it off.

20131005-212321.jpg

20131005-212339.jpg

I used some fine steel wool to get it looking good as well. While I was cleaning this piece, I cleaned the mechanism and use a spray penetrant. Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of that. It made the twist turn much easier.

The end result is fabulous. It’s stamped April 14, 1891 patented. The house was built in 1896.

20131005-212546.jpg

20131005-212557.jpg

It worked so well I moved on to the hardware.

20131005-212659.jpg

Leave a Reply

