I’m going primal

January 1 2014

I am going to try 30 days of going primal. I have put a pad of post its on my fridge counting down 30 days. I can do anything for 30 days right! I sure hope so.

I have been trying to eat organic and clean for a few years now but I clearly still eat to much processed foods and way to much carbs.. The bad kind… Sugary cakes and sweets and processed gunk. I want to detox my body and see if I can improve my overall health. I would like to drop a few pounds too so I am incorporating a group ride spin class but just nice or twice a week. There was a time when I may have been a little addicted to spinning. I used it for anger management while my beloved teenage son decided to behave less than desired and my mother was sick and dying of cancer. It’s a good thing the bikes were bolted to the floor.

So day one.. I have been reading lots about Paleo and whole30 eating lifestyles. It makes sense to me and I do want to eliminate processed foods from my diet. I know from experience that I have a carb addiction… Just check out some if my posts. Anyway I felt better in 2000 when I gripped the low carb craze. I lost 50 lbs and I felt better.

I like the primal thinking, I can still have carbs in vegetables and fruits. Eventually (hopefully like 2 weeks) I will detox from some of the nasty stuff and I won’t have the urges to eat junk anymore.

Day one breakfast. I had scrambled eggs, bacon and a small mandarin orange.

Not a bad breakfast but I should have added some spinach to the eggs or some other vegetable.

Day 2 sick

Day 3 omg sick

Day 4 omg omg sick with the flu

So I am not sure if my wretched headache is due to my illness or withdraw from processed foods and sugars. Pics just hope when I come out of this, I’m feeling much better

It’s been easy to eat because I have no appetite. I am going to try and eat a baked sweet potato with coconut butter. It’s in the oven.

Day 5 sick but I was able to eat for breakfast 2 sunny side up eggs over a smooshed sweet potato. I ate the same things for lunch as I did dinner, Chicken breast, strawberries, blueberries, pecans, avocado and spinach.BORING!!! I need to learn to make the sauces. Oh and I can’t do without cheese. I put together and awesome snack. A banana + almond butter+ whole cashews. Very good

Day 6. Sick again! Yesterday’s burst of energy has drained me for today. It’s 3:00 and I am eating my first meal of the day.. Only because I’m getting shaky. I ate a few tablespoons of Tuna because my husband wanted tuna sandwiches. He is home sick too. Don’t eat commercial tuna! I know the cost is so much more significant for the pole caught but it’s so much better and healthier. Just open a can of commercial tuna and a can of pole caught. The visual difference is even significant. The tuna I prefer is Sustainable Seas. Along with the tuna I had some sweet potato jerky. They were meant to be fries but I made them this morning to eat with eggs and I wasn’t hungry so they dried out in the oven all day. Along with that, a half of an apple and some almond butter. Bleh!

Day something-teen. I have been good about eating healthy whole and Paleo but I haven’t been so good to blog. We finally got over the urban plague of the century and are back to functioning somewhat normally. ….. Instead of staying home from work and wallering in bed we a fever and aches and pains, we are going to work, late….. Just like normal.

I was even able to start spinning again. I had my first in a few years class on Wednesday. I don’t know why I love it so much. It is 45 minutes of pain and sweat. But at the end, it was much better than a week spent in stress management. Nothing like a day if juvenile court to send me running to a torture chamber full of stationary bikes and techno music. Hands down, my new spin class is going to be the best ever! spinning at ASAP.

So I have defiantly increased my intake of fruits and vegetables. I haven’t had any processed foods, pasta, grains, legumes or wheat, bread….. I have one confession to make. Cheese. I just can’t live without it. I miss milk dearly and I plan to have a cheat day in a few weeks and milk is the first thing in my list. CHUG CHUG CHUG!!!! But as for cheese, I have eaten raw milk cheese.

Dinner usually looks like some chicken and roasted vegetables. I like the cabbage slabs, it was surprisingly complimentary to any meal. Check out this cabbage recipe. I thought for a minute that I was sick if sweet potatoes until I found a way to eat them that is delicious. I peeled and cut a sweet potato to bake like fries and put them on a cookie sheet in the oven, if you have never had sweet potato fries…. See here. Good but they need something rich and creamy to slather all over them so I made a mayonnaise.

Roast one very large clove of garlic until squishy…. Garlic is a preference… I like garlic

In my ninja blender I out two egg yolks, added a tsp of spicy mustard and a splash of lemon juice. To this I added the squishy, yummy roasted garlic and blended for a minute. To that I added olive oil (about 1/2 to 3/4 cup) until it was mayonnaise. I cannot tell you how delicious this is. It’s just plain good! I’m going to slather everything in this.

For breakfast, getting to work normally late makes it difficult to sit down and eat something. So I made smoothie bags. In a BpA free plastic container I put a half of a banana, 2-3 strawberries, 1/4 peach and a huge handful of simple truth power greens (spinach, baby kale, arugula) and I make enough for 5 days and put it in the freezer. In the morning, I drop it in the Ninja and add unsweetened almond milk. It’s a smoothie full of greens and the banana makes in sweet. Voila! Breakfast in the car.

I am. It hating this way of eating. I’m not getting in the scale either, not until January 31

I have had a sweet craving and this hit the spot. FuDge!!!

As I write this I am making a pumpkin bread with almond meal and maple syrup….. My house smells like pumpkin pie right now!

I love the fudge but the pumpkin bread, not so much. I didn’t like the texture. My dog was thrilled. She likes it when I don’t like things.

20140118-190554.jpg

See she hides under the table just waiting for food that I don’t like. She is quite spoiled. I make all her dog food and treats but I’ll save that for another days blog.

Tonight’s dinner was fabulous. I found some buffalo steaks marked down at Kroger. I still had two days before the sell by so I grabbed them up. Thing is….. I have never cooked buffalo before. I have eaten it at Smokey Bones before but in the form of a burger.

So while we were driving between Cincinnati and Columbus to meet my sister and her husband for lunch, I googled it if course. Thanks to this site here I learned quickly that you don’t cook buffalo so quickly. Of course, I paid no attention to this instruction but the result were delicious anyway.

Pepper buffalo steak

20140118-191256.jpg

Yumtastic!

I used an iron skillet because there is just no other way for me and you can’t convince me otherwise… I put about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil in the skilled and placed the two small steaks in the skillet. I lightly dusted the steaks with paprika, Indian hot chili powder (just a little) and some rosemary infused sea salt (I eat that on everything). While the steaks were cooking at a slightly lower heat than I would a beef steak, I sliced up a green pepper, white onion and large garlic clove. Once the steaks were ready to flip, I added the onions pepper and garlic to the skillet. I like the green pepper cooked but not mushy. I believe thats al dente!

That’s it. It made a lot more than you see on the plate. I saved half for tomorrow’s lunch.

The buffalo was very tender so my failure to completely follow direction didn’t seem to effect the tenderness.

Eating whole isn’t so bad
πŸŽπŸπŸŠπŸ―πŸ‹πŸŒπŸˆπŸ‘πŸ“πŸ‰πŸ’πŸπŸπŸ πŸ†πŸ…πŸ³πŸ—

Day 20 something

Feeling good. Period. Some days I’m bored with food others, like tonight, I think I had the best salad ever! I went to spin again and came home ravenous. I basically cut yo some lettuce and put everything I could on top.

20140122-215813.jpg

Lettuce, chicken breast, eggs, blueberries, strawberries, onions, apples, raw milk cheese and the best salad dressing ever.

Using the best kitchen appliance ever, my ninja…. I whipped up a lovely dressing. To the blender I added 2 tbsp of cashew butter, a tsp of olive oil, a garlic clove, a tsp of mustard, a tbsp of honey, a splash of lemon juice, 2 tbsp of water and a dash if salt. Ninja kick it into dressing. Love it! I want to make more I think I could eat it on everything

It is strange but I just ate a small apple that came with my lunch salad from Panera bread… I love the steak salad… Anyway I have been getting an apple instead of bread. In general food just tastes better. The little ordinary apple was the best apple I have ever eaten. Could it be that processed foods mess with our taste buds? Dulling and numbing us to miss the beautiful natural flavor a that come from whole foods?

January 26

Not a good day. Not a good day at all. I’m feeling a bit if anxiety and I totally blew the eating plan. We had my sons 20th birthday party. I ate poorly. So I started off with anxiety about my husband being out of town for a week, my baby turning 20, some health problems of one of my grand kids, work and much more to mention and I am ending the day with guilt and dread after eating a bunch of crap. 😦 not a good day at all

I was able to recover quickly in the 27th. I jumped right back into to eating whole foods. The processed food from the birthday party made me feel sick. Blah

Final thoughts….

I have been much healthier and have had energy to do spin. Overall I do feel better and I want to continue to eat like this. I will keep am 85/15 rule. If I can eat whole healthy foods like carrots, sweet potatoes, cabbage, avocados, lean organic meats, apples, oranges, strawberries, peaches, nuts, raspberries, raw milk cheese and nut butters 85% of the time I will. Be happy

I don’t even really want the processed foods to assign it a value of 15%

Very very small amounts of flour, processed sugar, pasta or processed cheeses

I haven’t gotten on a scale since 1/1. I’ll try to stand on it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

