Vintage mixed Textiles Aprons 

I am a fabric hoarder… Yes it is true. I hoard mostly vintage fabrics and lace and ribbon and trimming and edging and…. Well you get the picture.  I have been sitting on a cache of loveliness for a few years now.  At an estate sale in Clifton, in the basement of a huge brick well preserved home, I found one of those giant zipping clear square bags that bed sets come in. At first I was thrilled because I thought I had found big lot of vintage bed sheets.  But it was better.  Way better.  The mother load of vintage fabric.  Unused uncut sheet material. Most were cut to size for a kingsize pillow but never sewn.  Some still had the yardage tag still stapled in the corner.  I drug that bag up the stairs and through the house to pay and get out.  The price was perfect.  I had to pick my jaw up off he floor.  Wish I the bag wasn’t clear I nervously smiled to other women who were spying my loot.  The fabric is probably mid to late 1960’s. It is not perfect,  it has some fading and little marks made by the original cutter if the yardage off the bolt. To me it was perfectly aged.  Like cheese. Or wine.  But BETTER!  I sit on fabric believing that I will know what to do with it at the right time.  A few days ago, browsing through the eye candy of aprons on Pinterest I had an epiphany for this stack of cotton. I think the end results are better than anything I have seen on Pinterest or etsy. Soon these will be on Etsy. As for my immediate friends and family, they are for sale now. 

Everything is authentically vintage except the thread and some of that may be as well. 
Some pockets are made from old linens 

All have extra long waist straps to bring around front to tie.  They all slip over the head with enough room to cut and tie if too large.  They are not small aprons, they will cover side to side and may wrap around to mid back in smaller women. 

I call this one American Pansy. It is red white and blue. The flip side (fully lined), neck strap and hem edge is a red gingham.  It has a red and white polka dot waist strap and heart shape top bib. The main front fabric is a pretty blue flower print with the bigger flowers being pansies.

The pocket is a cross stitched red and blue pattern on linen.  For this one I am selling it for $40.00

**************************

The next one is pink pansies with a cherry pattern pocket. It has a pink shaggy edging across the bib. Very light and soft.  Perfect for summer.   For this one I am asking 25.00

The next one is another light apron. I call this one ‘lemon lime’. The bib is lined with green, has a slight arc shape. The pattern is yellow roses and has a bright green pocket. 

In this photo you can see how the ties come around to the front.  You can always tie a big bow in back as well. For this one I am asking 25.00

The next one is another light apron.  Also featuring a yellow rose pattern, this apron has a linen double pocket. It has a pleat across the bib. For this one I am asking 25.00


The next apron has a pretty pink and blue flowe pattern.  It has a cherry pink gingham pocket with a white ric rac edge.  Also a pleated bib with a white lace edge. For this one I am asking 25.00. 


This is my apron. The queen of all fabric.  I have had this since 2009.  I found it in an estate sale out off of Clough Pike on the east side of Cincinnati.  I absolutely love this fabric.  I think it may go back to the 30s or 40s. It is a teal green and grey and black sweet pea print. I cannot even throw away any scraps. I want to be buried in it.  Just kidding. (Not really. Do it.  Consider this a legal document). 

Anyway.. It’s just gorgeous. I only have about two yards. The lining fabric matches perfectly but was found in another estate box deal a year or so ago.  Perfect match. 

Others are running a marathon today. I am running a sewing machine. 
Lemon and Sage apron. Yellow roses and ric rac. Linen pocket with crochet edge. Heart top bib. Sage green lining, ties and neck tie. Same as others with an extra long tie to bring around front or make a big bow in the back. The pocket is very detailed. $40

Leave a Reply

